DataHub Tools

A multitude of tools, that has been developed at the research centres of the Helmholtz Gemeinschaft, is supporting the work of scientists in many ways. The tool's subjects range from data management, via data analysis, to persistent identifier services. Furthermore, publicly available map services are offered by many centres. This page provides a list of readily accessible, and currently developed tools.

Map services

GEOMAR map service

The GEOMAR map services provide maps including expedition related information for integration in other tools.

GFZ Map-Catalog

The GFZ map catalog provides maps and geo data via standardised webservice interfaces, such that they can be implemented into other application and tools. Offered are basemaps and thematic overlays that can be enriched by individual maps and geodata.

Coming soon…
maps@AWI

maps@awi lists scientifically processed data in a highly specialised WebGIS project.

Data management

AWI O2A Sensor

Management and repository for administration of device, platform and sensor information.

MOSES Data Management Plan

Goal of the MOSES Data Management plan is to help scientists during the structural planning, implementation and administration of data collected during MOSES campaigns. Additionally, the portal offers retrieval of text based data management plans that can be used for tasking documents or campaign reports.The collected information should be transferred automatically to the (MOSES) Data Discovery Portal. The metadata can be further used in other tools via ISO XML (ISO19139).The instrument data input is simplified by providing APIs, which also reduce the number of duplicate entries.

OSIS Ocean science information system

OSIS, developed by GEOMAR and other collaborative institutes, is a data management tool. Expedition related metadata such as maps, route descriptions, weekly reports, DSHIP, published data and stations can be delivered as JSON to external websites. Data published via OSIS links in OceanRep or OSIS expeditions in PANGEA, will be visible in the MareHUB Portal marine-data.de. OSIS furthermore serves as data management plan record, i.e. users will see their deliverables colour coded on the front page. Provisioning of data in OSIS, or the publication of data, are regularly performed at specified periods, and in agreement with the data policy.

Hub Terra Sensor Management System

The HubTerra Sensor Management System allows the comprehensive acquisition, administration and export of meta data of platforms, sensors and measurement configurations by stations and campaigns operated in the Helmhotlz research field Earth & Environment.

Coming soon…
LI2 - Laboratory Infrastructure Inventory

LI2 is a platform for the shared use of laboratory infrastructure at distributed research institutes. The goal is to establish and maintain a common and extensive laboratory infrastructure protfolio for the advantage of all employees and partner institutions.

Coming soon…

Data analysis

AWI O2A Dashboard

Monitoring and display of (e.g. real time) data accompanied by maps and diagrams.

Observatory View

The timeseries portal by GFZ Potsdam and UFZ Leipzig is part of the DataHub Observatory View and allows scientists of the Helmholtz community to collaboratively monitor and visualise time series data. Visualised data (e.g. diagrams, maps, heatmaps) can be made available externally, e.g. on project webpages.

Hereon Drift App

For a profound interpretation of measured data, such as collected at permanent stations or campaigns, it is vitally important to understand the history of the targeted water bodies. Using the Drift App of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon, drift pathways of such water bodies can be computed on a daily base utilising operationally generated flow fields.

Hereon Model Analysis Tool

The purpose of this tool of the Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon is to provide simple access to complex model data. Models often contain enormous amounts of data covering large time periods and areas. Therefore, many models are only accessible to experts. This tool attempts to bridge the gap between modelling experts and experts of other fields. An interface is provided to statistically examine and download subsets of model-derived data. In the context of the DataHub this tool is modernized in form of the Model Data Explorer, which is currently being developed.

PID Minting Services

DOI Registry Service by GFZ

Since 2004, the GFZ provides Digital Object Identifiers (DOI) for research data and offers the GFZ Data Services repository for "Long-Tail-Data" in all geoscientific disciplines. Furthermore, GFZ Data Services archives and publishes scientif data sets.

IGSN Registry Services by GFZ

As an International GeoSample Number (IGSN) Allocating Agent, the GFZ maintains a registry service for the retrieval of IGNS names. Samples with an assigned IGSN are uniquely identifiable and referable. The samples can be accessed via the GFZ services, to simplify their utilisation. The services include distribution of IGSN, application of namespaces, provision of an OAI-PMH interface for metadata aquisition, support for the implementaiton of best practices for IGSN-distribution, -syntax and -metdata, securing the uniqueness of a registered IGSN, the permanent access to metadata and their persistence.

Coming soon…
IGNS Registry Services by GEOMAR

As an International GeoSample Number (IGSN) member, the GEOMAR together with Kiel University offers a registry service for the retrieval of IGSN names. Samples with an assigned IGSN are uniquely identifiable and referable. The samples can be accessed via the GEOMAR services, to simplify their utilisation. The services include distribution of IGSN, application of namespaces, provision of an OAI-PMH interface for metadata aquisition, support for the implementaiton of best practices for IGSN-distribution, -syntax and -metdata, securing the uniqueness of a registered IGSN, the permanent access to metadata and their persistence.

DataHub Werkzeuge

An den Forschungszentren der Helmholtz Gemeinschaft sind eine Vielzahl von Werkzeugen geschaffen worden, die die Arbeit der Wissenschaftler auf vielfältige Weise unterstützen. Das Spektrum dieser Werkzeuge reicht vom Datenmanagement, über Analysewerkzeuge, bis hin zu Serviceangeboten zur Vergabe von Persistenten Identifikatoren. Auch öffentlich zugängliche Kartendienste werden von einigen Zentren angeboten. Hier findet sich eine Liste von bereits verfügbaren, und auch noch in Entwicklung befindlichen Werkzeugen der Helmholtz-Zentren.

Kartendienste

GEOMAR map service

Die GEOMAR Beispielkartensammlung stellt Karten mit Informationen zu Expeditionen für die Integration in anderen Tools bereit.

GFZ Map-Catalog

Die vom GFZ angebotenen Karten- und Geodatendienste liefern Karten und Geodaten über standardisierte Webservice-Schnittstellen aus, so dass diese in Applikationen und Datenwerkzeugen eingebunden werden können. Es werden Basemaps und thematische Overlays angeboten, die bei Bedarf mit individuellem Kartenmaterial und thematischen Geodaten erweitert werden können.

In Kürze verfügbar…
maps@AWI

maps@awi listet wissenschaftlich aufbereitete Daten aus der Forschung in Form hochangepasster WebGIS-Projekte für die weitere Arbeit auf.

Datenmanagement

AWI O2A Sensor

Management und Repositorium für die Verwaltung von Geräte-, Plattform und Sensorinformationen.

MOSES Data Management Plan

Ziel des MOSES Data Management Plans ist es, Wissenschaftler bei der strukturierten Planung, Implementierung und Verwaltung der in MOSES-Kampagnen erhaltenen Daten zu unterstützen. Darüber soll eine Möglichkeit geboten werden, Datenmanagementpläne in Textform vorzuhalten, welche dann für Aufgabenhefte oder Kampagnenberichte verwendet werden können. Die erhobenen Informationen sollen automatisiert in das (MOSES) Data Discovery Portal übertragen werden. Weiterhin ist eine Nachnutzung dieser Metadaten via ISO XML (ISO19139) in andere Tools möglich. Die Dateneingabe für Instrumente wird durch Einbindung von Instrumentenverwaltungstools mittels APIs vereinfacht, wodurch eine doppelte Dateneingabe in unterschiedliche Tools verringert wird.

OSIS Ocean science information system

OSIS wird am GEOMAR und von anderen Instituten, die mit dem GEOMAR zusammenarbeiten, als Tool für das Datenmanagement genutzt. So werden zu Expeditionen Informationen (Metadaten) wie eine Karte, Fahrtbeschreibung, Wochenberichte, DSHIP, publizierte Daten, und Stationen zusammen per JSON an externe Webseiten ausgeliefert. Über OSIS links in OceanRep oder von OSIS Fahrten in PANGAEA veröffentlichten Daten werden diese Informationen auch im MareHUB Portal marine-data.de sichtbar. OSIS dient aber auch als Datenmanagementplan record, d.h. es werden Nutzern ihre deliverables auf der Startseite farbcodiert angezeigt. Die Bereitstellung von Daten in OSIS bzw. die Publikation von Daten werden entsprechend der data policy zu bestimmten Fristen angefragt und entsprechend umgesetzt.

HubTerra Sensor Management System

Das HubTerra Sensor Management System ermöglicht die umfassende Erfassung, Verwaltung und den Export von Metadaten zu Platformen, Sensoren und Messkonfigurationen der im Helmholtz Fachbereich Erde & Umwelt betriebene Messtellen, Stationen und Kampagnen.

In Kürze verfügbar…
LI2 - Laboratory Infrastructure Inventory

LI2 ist eine Plattform für die gemeinsame Nutzung einer Laborinfrastruktur über verteilte Standorte. Das Ziel ist die Einrichtung und Betreuung eines gemeinsamen und umfassenden Laborinfrastruktur Portfolios zum Nutzen aller Mitarbeiter und Partner.

In Kürze verfügbar…

Datenwerkzeuge

AWI O2A Dashboard

Monitoring und Anzeige von (z.B. Echtzeit-) Daten mit gleichzeitiger Karten- und Diagramdarstellung.

Observatory View

Das Timeseries Portal des GFZ Potsdam und UFZ Leipzig als Teil der DataHub Observatory View ermöglicht Wissenschaftlern der Helmholtzgemeinschaft das Visualisieren, Monitoren und kollaborative Arbeiten von und mit Zeitreihendaten. Visualisierungen (z. B. Diagramme, Karten, Heatmaps) können extern verfügbar gemacht und so z.B. auf Projektseiten eingebunden werden.

Hereon Drift App

Für eine sachgerechte Interpretation von Messdaten, wie sie an festen Stationen oder auf speziellen Kampagnen erhoben werden, sind Kenntnisse über die Vorgeschichte der untersuchten Wasserkörper von großer Bedeutung. Mit der Drift App des Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon können Driftwege auf Basis operationell erzeugter Strömungsfelder (BSH) tagesaktuell berechnet werden.

Hereon Modellanalyse Tool

Modelle enthalten große Datenmengen, welche große Zeiträume und Gebiete abdecken. Deswegen werden sie oft nur von Experten genutzt. Dieses Werkzeug des Helmholtz-Zentrum Hereon versucht die Lücke zwischen modellierenden Wissenschaftlern und Experten anderer Fachdisziplinen zu schließen. Über eine benutzerfreundliche Oberfläche können statistische Analysen durchgeführt und abgeleitete Modelldaten heruntergeladen werden. Im Rahmen des DataHub wird es zum Model Data Explorer modernisiert, der sich momentan in der Entwicklung befindet.

PID Minting Services

DOI Registrierungsdienste des GFZ

Das GFZ vergibt seit 2004 Digital Object Identifier (DOI) für Forschungsdaten und betreibt als DataCite Mitglied das Repositorium GFZ Data Services für "Long-Tail-Daten", das alle geowissenschaftlichen Disziplinen abdeckt. Neben der Vergabe von DOIs und der Verwaltung der Metadaten werden Datensätze über die GFZ Data Services archiviert und veröffentlicht.

IGSN Registrierungsdienste des GFZ

Das GFZ als International GeoSample Number (IGSN) Allocating Agent betreibt Registrierungsdienste für die Vergabe von IGSN-Namen, dauerhafter eindeutiger Kennungen für physische Proben. Proben mit einer IGSN sind eindeutig identifizierbar und referenzierbar. Sie können über die angebotenen Dienste des GFZ aufgefunden werden, um den Zugriff und die gemeinsame Nutzung von Proben zu erleichtern. Zu den Diensten gehören die Vergabe von IGSN, die Beantragung von Namespaces, die Bereitstellung einer OAI-PMH-Schnittstellen für die Metadatenerfassung, Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung von Best Practices für die IGSN-Zuweisung, -Syntax und -Metadaten, Sicherstellung der Eindeutigkeit registrierter IGSN, des dauerhaften Zugriffs auf deren Metadatensätze und ihrer Persistenz.

In Kürze verfügbar…
IGSN Registrierungsdienste des GEOMAR

Das GEOMAR als International GeoSample Number (IGSN) member betreibt zusammen mit der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel Registrierungsdienste für die Vergabe von IGSN-Namen, dauerhafter eindeutiger Kennungen für physische Proben. Proben mit einer IGSN sind eindeutig identifizierbar und referenzierbar. Sie können über die angebotenen Dienste des GFZ aufgefunden werden, um den Zugriff und die gemeinsame Nutzung von Proben zu erleichtern. Zu den Diensten gehören die Vergabe von IGSN, die Beantragung von Namespaces, die Bereitstellung einer OAI-PMH-Schnittstellen für die Metadatenerfassung, Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung von Best Practices für die IGSN-Zuweisung, -Syntax und -Metadaten, Sicherstellung der Eindeutigkeit registrierter IGSN, des dauerhaften Zugriffs auf deren Metadatensätze und ihrer Persistenz.