Coastal Protection Demand

The interactive maps for the North Sea and Baltic Sea coast provide information on coastal protection requirements: You can find out whether your residential area is protected from storm surges by coastal protection today, or whether this will be necessary by 2100. If you have any questions, please contact the North German Climate Office.

Interactive Map

Baltic sea coast - present and future

The map shows based on the storm surge from 12./13. November 1872, in which regions of the German Baltic coast there is a need for coastal protection. In addition, you can display which areas will probably need additional protection at the end of the 21st century. Until then, high storm surges, such as the storm surge from 12./13. November 1872, due to the rise in sea level up to 80 cm higher.

Northsea coast - present and future

The map shows on the basis of the storm surge from 16./17. February 1962, which regions of the German North Sea coast are today protected from storm surges by coastal protection measures. In addition, you can display which areas will probably need additional protection at the end of the 21st century. Until then, high storm surges, such as the storm surge of 16./17. February 1962, due to the rise in sea level and a changed wind climate up to 1.1 m higher.
This service is provided by

Last updated at: 31.03.2021

Küstenschutzbedarf

Auf den interaktiven Karten für die Nordsee- und Ostseeküste erhalten Sie Informationen zum Küstenschutzbedarf: Sie erfahren, ob Ihr Wohngebiet heute durch Küstenschutz vor Sturmfluten geschützt wird, oder ob dies bis 2100 nötig wird. Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an das Norddeutsche Klimabüro.

Interaktive Karte

Ostseeküste - heute und in Zukunft

Die Karte zeigt auf der Basis der Sturmflut vom 12./13. November 1872, in welchen Regionen der deutschen Ostseeküste Küstenschutzbedarf besteht. Zusätzlich können Sie sich anzeigen lassen, welche Gebiete Ende des 21. Jahrhunderts voraussichtlich zusätzlich geschützt werden müssen. Bis dahin können hohe Sturmfluten, wie beispielsweise die Sturmflut vom 12./13. November 1872, durch den Meeresspiegelanstieg bis zu 80 cm höher auflaufen.

Nordseeküste - heute und in Zukunft

Die Karte zeigt auf der Basis der Sturmflut vom 16./17. Februar 1962, welche Regionen der deutschen Nordseeküste heute durch Küstenschutzmaßnahmen vor Sturmfluten geschützt werden. Zusätzlich können Sie sich anzeigen lassen, welche Gebiete Ende des 21. Jahrhunderts voraussichtlich zusätzlich geschützt werden müssen. Bis dahin können hohe Sturmfluten, wie beispielsweise die Sturmflut von 16./17. Februar 1962, durch den Meeresspiegelanstieg und ein verändertes Windklima bis zu 1,1 m höher auflaufen.
Dieses Projekt wird bereitgestellt durch

Zuletzt aktualisiert am: 31.03.2021